The Department of Civil Engineering and Environmental Sciences

Civil engineers change the world. They influence our lives more than many other professions, because infrastructural facilities and buildings are an essential part of every civilisation. How we will live tomorrow is inspired by their imagination and knowledge. Civil engineers analyze, model and realize. They create safe airports, network settlements, design water supply concepts and sewer systems, restore rivers or set up wind power plants on the open sea. Today, civil engineers and environmental scientists are creatively and innovatively mastering the rapidly growing demands of business, culture, environmental influences or new materials.

Our department offers a practical, practice-oriented course of study with a bachelor's and master's degree in Civil Engineering and Environmental Sciences with real perspectives – versatile and high-quality. Those, who study here today will earn the starting capital for a successful career as a civil engineer tomorrow. In conjunction with the Departments of Computer Science, Electrical Engineering and Information Technology as well as Aerospace Engineering, the bachelor's and master's degree courses in Mathematical Engineering are also offered.

The individual institutes are responsible for research, which develops on the basis of the society's current issues, each with its own focal points, and implements them either alone or in cooperation in international competition. The research is primarily basic research and is supplemented by commissions from the Bundeswehr and industry. The studies at our department impart the entire range of engineering methods and skills that enable our graduates to make responsible, qualified and flexible decisions and take action on a scientific basis. The range of services is completed by excellently equipped laboratories, which form the basis of numerous projects.

Department Organization

The Department Council is the highest body responsible for the interests of the department. It is assisted by other bodies such as the Examination Committee, the Study Commission and the Structural Commission. Within the university, the department is represented in the various committees by its representatives.

Department Council


Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Thomas Apel
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Braml (Vice Dean)
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Michael Brünig (Dean)
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Otto Heunecke
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Josef Kiendl
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Alexander Popp
Univ.-Prof. Dr. techn. Philip Sander
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Christian Schaum (Dean of Studies)

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Silja Hoffmann

Scientific Staff Member
Dr. Matthias Mayr

Civil Staff Member
Karin Bächle

Jennifer Bölz
Lucas Harrer
Jan Peeters

Advising Members / Guests
Equal Opportunities Delegates (civ./mil.)
Michael Loibl M.Sc. (scientific staff)
OTL Eduard Eberl (leader StudFB B)
Hptm Josephin Genschewski (leader 5B)
Hptm Felix Tischendorf (leader 6B)

Student Committee

Univ.-Prof. K.-H. Thiemann (head)
Univ.-Prof. O. Heunecke
Univ.-Prof. C. Jacoby
Univ.-Prof. C. Schaum

Scientific Staff Members
Dr. I. Baselt
M.Sc. S. Wagner

Student Members
M. Schütt BAU 18
H. Gutsch BAU 17

Department Delegates

Dean of Studies
Univ.-Prof. C. Schaum

Univ.-Prof. T. Braml

Foreign Affairs
Univ.-Prof. M. Brünig

Work Placement
Univ.-Prof. C. Boley

Univ.-Prof. A. Popp
substitute Univ.-Prof. M. Brünig

Equal Opportunities
Univ.-Prof. K.-C. Thienel

Examination Board ME
Univ.-Prof. M. Richter EIT (head)

Stand-in professors BAU:

Univ.-Prof. T. Apel

Univ.-Prof. Michael Brünig

Commission of Promotion for Young Scientists,
Scholarships and Student Support

Univ.-Prof. A. Popp

Faculty Day

Univ.-Prof. C. Boley

Advisory Council IT-Strategy and IT-Safety
Univ.-Prof. T. Apel
Univ.-Prof. A. Popp

Univ.-Prof. K.-H. Thiemann

Univ.-Advisory Council Study Plus
Univ.-Prof. K.-H. Thiemann

Examining Board

Prof. O. Heunecke (head)
Prof. T. Braml (substitute)
Prof. A. Malcherek

Scientific Staff Member
Dr. E. Kienlein
M. Tießler (substitute)

Student Members
Mr. Gerhardt BAU 18
Mr. Harrer BAU 17 (guest)
Mr. Faust BAU 19 (guest)

Advising Members
Hptm Josephin Genschewski
Hptm Felix Tischendorf

Substitute Professors
Prof. T. Apel
Prof. M. Brünig
Prof. C. Jacoby
Prof. C. Thienel

Structural Committee

Univ.-Prof. Conrad Boley
Univ.-Prof. Michael Brünig (Dean)
Univ.-Prof. Christian Jacoby
Univ.-Prof. Christian Schaum
Univ.-Prof. Geralt Siebert

Head of Department and secretariat

                     Dean's Office

                                     Karin Bächle
                                     Telefon: +49 89 6004-2517

Dean Vice Dean Dean of Studies Dean Vice Dean Dean of Studies


  • 1: Dean
  • 2: Vice Dean
  • 3: Dean of Studies