The General Regulations on the Structure and Organization of the University of the Bundeswehr Munich stipulate that the Senate must be composed of five representatives of the professors, including at least one representative of the University of Applied Sciences of the University of the Bundeswehr Munich, the Commissioners for Gender Equality and one representative each of the research associates, the non-academic staff and the students. Furthermore, the members of the Governance Committee are represented in the Senate in an advisory function.

The Senate advises the University Governance and has the right of initiative. Its responsibilities include, in particular, setting priorities in research and in promoting junior academic staff, making decisions on reforms within the courses of study and providing statements on the appointment of new professors. As a general rule, the Senate also makes decisions on internal regulations to be issued by the University of the Bundeswehr Munich.

Members of the Senate

Voting members of the Senate are:

For the professors:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Alexander Lion (chair)
Prof. Dr. Stephan Kaiser (deputy chair)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wilfried Pascher
Prof. Dr. Thomas Apel
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Günther Löwisch

For the research associates:
Dr. Marina Kühn-Kauffeldt

For the non-academic staff:
Dr. Christoph Janello

For the students:
Lieutenant Jonathan Mai

For gender equality:
AkadDir'in Pamela Koch
Civilian Commissioner for Gender Equality

First Lieutenant Kathrin Faehndrich
Military Commissioner for Gender Equality


The following staff contribute to the Senate in an advisory function:

Prof. Dr. mont. Dr.-Ing. habil. Eva-Maria Kern, MBA

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Uwe M. Borghoff
Vice President for Digitalization

Prof. Dr. Rafaela Kraus
Vice President for Entrepreneurship and the University of Applied Sciences

Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Renner
Vice President for Teaching and Internationalization

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Geralt Siebert
Vice President for Research

Siegfried Rapp

Colonel Matthias Henkelmann
Head of the Student Division