The Department of Civil Engineering and Environmental Sciences

Civil engineers change the world. They influence our lives more than many other professions, because infrastructural facilities and buildings are an essential part of every civilisation. How we will live tomorrow is inspired by their imagination and knowledge. Civil engineers analyze, model and realize. They create safe airports, network settlements, design water supply concepts and sewer systems, restore rivers or set up wind power plants on the open sea. Today, civil engineers and environmental scientists are creatively and innovatively mastering the rapidly growing demands of business, culture, environmental influences or new materials.

Our department offers a practical, practice-oriented course of study with a bachelor's and master's degree in Civil Engineering and Environmental Sciences with real perspectives – versatile and high-quality. Those, who study here today will earn the starting capital for a successful career as a civil engineer tomorrow. In conjunction with the Departments of Computer Science, Electrical Engineering and Information Technology as well as Aerospace Engineering, the bachelor's and master's degree courses in Mathematical Engineering are also offered.

The individual institutes are responsible for research, which develops on the basis of the society's current issues, each with its own focal points, and implements them either alone or in cooperation in international competition. The research is primarily basic research and is supplemented by commissions from the Bundeswehr and industry. The studies at our department impart the entire range of engineering methods and skills that enable our graduates to make responsible, qualified and flexible decisions and take action on a scientific basis. The range of services is completed by excellently equipped laboratories, which form the basis of numerous projects.

Department Organization

The Department Council is the highest body responsible for the interests of the department. It is assisted by other bodies such as the Examination Committee, the Study Commission and the Structural Commission. Within the university, the department is represented in the various committees by its representatives.

Department Council

Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Thomas Apel (vice dean)
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Michael Brünig
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Bogenberger
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Otto Heunecke
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Jacoby (dean of studies)
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Geralt Siebert (dean)
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karl-Heinz Thiemann

Scientific Staff Members
Benedikt Bracher
Dr.-Ing. Lars Rüdiger
Marco Schmidt (Vertreter)

Equal Opportunities Delegate
Akad. OR'in Pamela Koch

Civil Staff Member
Karin Bächle

Axel Neißer-Deiters
Philipp Ohler
Denis Kasper

Advising Members / Guests
Major Eduard Eberl (Leiter StudFB B)
Hptm Jan Fischer (Gruppenleiter)
Hptm Matthias Thiele (Gruppenleiter)

Student Committee

Prof. Dr.-Ing. K.-H. Thiemann (head)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. G. Siebert
Prof. Dr.-Ing. O. Heunecke
Prof. Dr.-Ing. C. Jacoby

Scientific Staff Members
Hptm Richter
Paul Warnstedt

Student Members
Hr. Toni Peters (BAU 15)
Hr. Frederik Gügel (BAU 14)

Department Delegates

Dean of Studies
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. C. Jacoby

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. T. Braml

Foreign Affairs
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. M. Brünig

Work Placement
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. C. Boley

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. A. Popp
substitute Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. M. Brünig

Equal Opportunities
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. K.-C. Thienel

Examination Board ME
Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. M. Richter
EIT (head)

Stand-in professors BAU:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. T. Apel

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Brünig

Commission of Promotion for Young Scientists,
Scholarships and Student Support

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. A. Popp

Faculty Day

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. C. Boley

Advisory Council IT-Strategy and IT-Safety
Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. T. Apel
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. A. Popp

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. K.-H. Thiemann

Univ.-Advisory Council Study Plus
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. K.-H. Thiemann

Examining Board

Prof. Dr.-Ing. O. Heunecke (head)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. K.-C. Thienel
Prof. Dr.-Ing. M. Keuser

Scientific Staff Member
Hr. Dr. Kienlein
Dr.-Ing. L. Rüdiger (substitute)

Student Members
Hr. Schultheiss
Hr. Spring
Hr. Rumpel

Substitute Professors
Prof. Jacoby
Prof. Apel
Prof. Mangerig
Prof. Brünig
Prof. Bogenberger

Structural Committee

Prof. Dr.-Ing. K. Bogenberger
Prof. Dr.-Ing. M. Brünig
Prof. Dr.-Ing. C. Schaum
Vice Dean

Head of Department and secretariat

                     Dean's Office

                                     Karin Bächle
                                     Telefon: +49 89 6004-3879

Dean Vice Dean Dean of Studies Dean Vice Dean Dean of Studies


  • 1: Dean
  • 2: Vice Dean
  • 3: Dean of Studies