Understanding the World, Society and Politics


to the website of the Department of Social Sciences and Public Affairs at the University of the Bundeswehr Munich. Our pages give you a detailed insight into the programs offered and the dean’s office. We would also like to give you a more precise idea of the research and teaching we do conduct in our department.

Our Profile in Research and Teaching

The Department of Social Sciences and Public Affairs conducts interdisciplinary research from a contemporary as well as from a historical perspective. Investigating social, political, legal, economic and ethical developments at global, national, regional and local levels in this manner and to convey them in teaching is the department’s guiding principle.

The department itself is the epitome of interdisciplinary cooperation in research and teaching as the world, society and politics can best be understood from the interaction of different scientific perspectives. The department consists of five institutes – the Historical Institute, the Institute of Public and International Law, the Institute of Political Science, the Institute of Social Science and Economics, and the Institute of Theology and Ethics – and is rounded off by the Empirical Methods and Statistics Division. The department has 17 professors and 25 permanent research associates working in research and teaching. Along with the other staff members (e.g., third-party funded personnel, teaching assistants, lecturers), the department is currently tutoring to more than three hundred students in the Political and Social Sciences B.A. and M.A. programs.

Contact Details

The Department of Social Sciences and Public Affairs is located in building 33.

Dean's Office Dean's Office


  • 1: Dean's Office

Need help?

Your Contact Persons at the dean's office of the Department of Social Sciences and Public Affairs for questions regarding the B.A. and M.A. program Social Sciences and Public Affairs:

You will find us in building 33.

Dean of Studies Dean of Studies


  • 1: Dean of Studies