Public Statement regarding the Prosecution of Academics in Turkey

18 January 2016 (amended as of 22 January 2016)


Public Statement
of the Presidents and Chairs of Professional Associations on “International Studies” regarding the Persecution of Academics in Turkey

As leaders of associations that represent academics and analysts of international studies, we are deeply concerned about the reaction of the Turkish government and police to the public statement signed by Turkish and international academics on the situation in Southeastern Turkey last week. While we condemn any form of political violence, we insist that academics must have the right to express their political views freely and without having to fear for their jobs or personal freedom.

We call upon the Turkish authorities to stop the persecution of our colleagues and ask university administrations to respect the right to free speech and academic freedom. Turkey is an important partner in our joint efforts to better understand how “a more peaceful, more socially inclusive world” can be realized – a key aim of the “Alliance of Civilizations” which President Erdogan has co-sponsored. Free academic debate is an essential prerequisite to foster such understanding. We hope that it can continue to flourish in Turkish universities as well.

Professor Gunther Hellmann Executive Secretary, World International Studies Committee (WISC)

Professor Thomas Diez President, European International Studies Association (EISA)

Professor Paul Diehl President, International Studies Association (ISA)

Professor Stefano Guzzini President, Central and East European Studies Association (CEEISA)

Professor Nicola Phillips Chair, British International Studies Association (BISA)

Professor Tuomas Forsberg Chair, Nordic International Studies Association (NISA)

Professor Stephan Stetter Chair, IR Section, German Political Science Association

Professor Rafael Velázquez President, Mexican International Studies Association (MISA)

Dr Alberto Sepúlveda Almarza President, Asociación Chilene de Especialistas Interacionales (ACHEI)

Professor Arlene B. Tickner President, Corporación Red Colombiana de Relaciones Internacionales (REDINTERCOL)

Professor Ben J Muller President, International Studies Association-Canada

Professor Fulvio Attiná and Professor Vittorio Emanuele Parsi Co-Chairs, Standing Group of International Relations, Italian Political Science Association (SGRI/SISP)


 PDF version